Currently Serving

John Lanza (2023)
  • (802) 763-8067
Mary Ayer (2023)
  • (802) 763-8549
Joseph Willis (2023)
  • (802) 763-8232

Justices of the Peace

Although historically Justices of the Peace (JPs) performed important judicial functions in towns, the tasks of today’s JPs are primarily: to administer oaths of office; to perform marriage ceremonies and civil unions; and to serve on the Board of Civil Authority.

The number of justices allocated to each town is apportioned to population. Sharon has three justices at this time, though if you are interested in serving, please reach out to the Town. Justices are nominated for two-year terms at the political party primaries in each even-numbered year. Independent candidates may have their names placed on the ballot by petition.

Justices are elected biennially on the first Tuesday in November.

Click here for details on the role and responsibilities.