## **Board of Civil Authority**

## Meeting 1/19/2022

## Location and time for the 2022 Election process.

Members Present:

JPs: Mary Ayer and Joseph Willis

Selectboard: Joseph Ronan and Kevin Gish

Town Clerk: Catherine Sartor

Public: Nicola Shipman, Margy Becker

Gish nominated Ronan chair, Sartor seconded. Ronan elected BCA Chair of this meeting.

Sartor explained the vote needed around this year's polling place and hours available to voters. Due to new pandemic protocols, towns are being allowed the choice to change traditional meeting places and times. It was suggested that the Town Offices become the polling place and discussion was had over times the polls would be open between 5AM and 7PM.

Ronan thought this was all reasonable

Gish suggested a 7am time, even though voters could drop ballots in the ballot box, he didn't want to restrict voters who may be on their way to work.

Ronan mentioned there was no push back last year with hours of 10-7PM and that a 12-hour day was a long one for staffing. People could use the Ballot box as well.

Joe Willis agreed that the 7AM-7PM was favorable

Mary Ayer agreed to either time.

Gish motioned for the March 1<sup>st</sup>, 2022 election polling place by Australian Ballot to be held at the Sharon Town Offices, and for the hours to be 7AM to 7PM.

Mary Ayer seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to Adjourn 6:10PM

Respectfully Submitted

Catherine Sartor BCA Clerk, Town Clerk.